Flip Flops In Digital Electronics

Flip Flops are devices that exhibits two different stable states and work as memory elements in a binary system. A single flip flop can store one bit of data, binary 1 or binary 0. Flip Flops are also known as Bistable Multivibrator. The memory elements used in clocked sequential circuits are called flip flops. Let us now see what are different type of flip flops and how they function. We have tried to provide enough information about each flip flop and given them desired respect by dedicating an individual post to each one of them. This particular post provides a consolidated place to navigate to all these posts.

S-R Latch

S-R Latch or Set-Reset Latch is the simplest type of flip flop which is a basic building block for other types of flip flops. It has two inputs, the S (Set) and R (Reset) inputs and two outputs which are complementary to each other and are denoted by Q and Q’. S-R latch continues to be in one of the stable state into which it has been put until it is triggered into another state – that’s why it is called a latch. Continue to read more…

D Flip Flop

D Flip Flop or a Delay Flip Flop has only data input D and two outputs which are complementary to each other and are denoted by Q and Q’. The Q output is identical to the D input except with one pulse time delay, hence the name D Flip Flop. Continue to read more…

J-K Flip Flop

The J-K Flip Flop has two data inputs J & K, a single clock input and two outputs Q and Q’.  J-K Flip Flop is used to avoid the forbidden state of S-R Flip Flop. Continue to read more…

Master Slave Flip Flop

The circuit of Master-Slave Flip Flop is basically two latches connected serially. The first latch is called the Master and the second is termed Slave. In a Master-Slave Flip Flop inputs are fed at the +ve edge and output is available at the -ve edge. Continue to read more…

T Flip Flop

When the two inputs J and K are connected together, a T flip flop or a Toggle flip flop is formed. This type of flip flop has only one data input T.  Continue to read more…

Hope you like the information presented here. Feel free to leave your feedback or suggestions in the comments section below.

Read the full series at Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5 and Part 6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code class="" title="" data-url=""> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <pre class="" title="" data-url=""> <span class="" title="" data-url="">